Hale recaptures Darlot Cup

The 1st XI cricket team could not have been more excited to bring the Darlot Cup home to Hale after a resounding victory against Aquinas.

The Darlot Cup for 1st XI cricket is one of the most traditional trophies in the PSA and was first awarded to Hale, previously known as Perth High School, in 1901. Since then Hale has won it on 26 other occasions with our most recent success coming in 2011.

The 2018/19 season was the first played over two terms with Term 4 consisting of six 50 over matches before the traditional two-day Darlot format came into play during Term 1. Despite winning 10 of 12 matches played, it was a rollercoaster ride for our 1st XI. No victories came easily with every match containing an important partnership. The bowling was the strength of the team with three bowlers taking over 25 wickets for the season, all under an average of 15.

The team saved its best performance for the last round against Aquinas where it needed to win to stave off a gallant Trinity team, which had been in second place all season. After sending Aquinas into bat, and with hundreds of students watching during lunchtime, Hale bowled the visitors out for 27, which set up the likelihood of an outright victory. The outright victory and hence the Darlot Cup was confirmed on Saturday afternoon with the boys and coaches understandably thrilled at winning the trophy for the 28th time in the School’s history.

The boys were presented with the trophy and premiership medallions at Assembly with four members of the team (Matthew Sculthorpe, Ethan Chivers, James Vercoe and Captain Nick Kane) awarded Colours for their contributions.